Awards . How to Enter . Rules for Entry

Rules for Entry

1. Nominations are due by Monday, 26 June 2017. You are encouraged to enter the category that best reflects your core business. If you are entering more than one category, a separate and complete nomination and submission must be submitted electronically for each category.

Entrants may only enter one submission in any one of the following group of categories:

  • Attractions – either category 1 or 2;
  • Festivals & Events – either category 3 or 4;
  • Tour and/or Transport Operators – either category 11 or 12;
  • Accommodation – either category 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 or 23

2. Achievements or activities referred to within your entry must relate to the qualifying period 1 July 2016 – 30 June 2017

Entrants must have traded for the entire qualifying period.

Exceptions apply to seasonal facilities and the following categories:

  • 3 - Major Festivals & Events
  • 4 – Festivals & Events
  • 14 – Destination Marketing
  • 24 - New Tourism Business

Where the activity being put forward for consideration must have occurred within the qualifying period.

3. Unanswered questions will attract zero points. If you feel that you cannot answer a question please discuss this with the Tourism Awards Coordinator. If you still feel the question is not relevant please explain your reasons within your submission.

4. Entrants must be based or operate in the state or territory of their nomination.

An exception to this rule exists where there is a genuine community of interest allowing an entrant to choose to nominate in another state/territory’s Awards program. To qualify for this exception the entrant must be able to demonstrate proof of membership in a relevant association OR provide a letter from that state/territories tourism office confirming the entrant’s participation in marketing campaigns or activities.

Should a company have individual operational branches or properties in other states/territories they may enter the individual South Australia awards as long as the majority of the submission focuses on the activities undertaken in that South Australia.

5. An entrant, such as a chain or franchise that has multiple products, must enter each product individually if they want each business to be able to promote the achievement of winning a tourism award. Alternatively the business may enter but the logo may only be used by the corporate entity, not the individual products.

6. An entry cannot be moved into another category following the closing date for lodgement of submissions.

7. If at any time following submission of an entry the business being put forward goes into administration, voluntary receivership, liquidation or bankruptcy, the entrant is required to advise the Tourism Awards Coordinator and accepts that the submission will no longer be eligible for an award.

8. There is no direct entry into the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards except Australian Tourism Legend. Only state or territory tourism award winners in categories 1 through 25 will automatically become a finalist in the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards.

*Please note that Categories 26 through to 31 are South Australian categories only and do not go to nationals. (they are: Outstanding Contribution by an Individual; South Australian Tourism Student of the Year; Tourism Education & Training, Local Government Award for Tourism and South Australian Taxi Driver of the Year.)


Site Visits

The purpose of the site visit is to assess the business being nominated and for verification of claims that may be made within the submission.  Operations are under no obligation to offer a free experience of their product. The site visit will be prearranged at a mutually convenient time and the judges have a proforma from which they work. As a condition of entry, you will be required to:

  • Provide your product/service on a complimentary basis if a judge’s visitation is required for your category of entry.
  • Must be available for judges to stay/visit if required on weekend days/evenings between June and September.

State judging is conducted by a volunteer panel of industry peers appointed by the South Australian Tourism Industry Council. Judges are selected for their knowledge and experience, for their willingness to commit time to the Award process and are convened each year specifically for the Tourism Awards.

Site visit judges will ask questions about your policies and procedures document that guide your business operations. It would be advisable to have ready access to them.

The absence of these documents will be reflected in the score.

The site inspection is worth 20% of the total score being added to the submission score. The exceptions to this are:

  • Categories 3, 4, 8, 14, 26, 27, 29 – These categories do not undergo a site visit.

Scores from the site visit do not apply at the Australian Tourism Awards


Compliance with Competition Rules

To ensure consistency and fairness in judging, the Rules for Entry must be strictly met.


File and Image Submission

  • Images: up to 10 images may be uploaded illustrating the entrant's operation. PLEASE NOTE: images must be 500 dpi files in JPEG format and the national awards event production prefers high-resolution images (1920x1080 in dimension)
  • PDF Size: your submission must be no more than 20MB when you upload
  • Hyperlinks: not permitted to be included in submission

Our Assurance

All information submitted is strictly confidential. All persons, for example Tourism Awards Coordinators and judges, who may come into contact with your submission, are each required to sign a confidentiality agreement and at no time will your submission be downloaded.



Please ensure your submission is lodged electronically to the website portal by Monday, 14 August 2017 (excluding categories 27 and 30).

  •  Categories 1-14 are due by 12noon
  •  Categories 15-28 due by 5.00pm
  • Categories 27 and 28 due by 22 September

Please note: late entries will not be accepted.



By entering the South Australian Tourism Awards, you authorise the use and/or reproduction of images and the 100-word description provided in relation to any editorial/advertising purposes initiated in conjunction with the awards and the Australian Tourism Awards.

Your contact details may also be supplied to agencies engaged on behalf of award organisers/committees for promotional purposes.

Under no circumstances will judges be held responsible for any comment, viewpoint or expression, whether expressed or implied, concerning the standard or quality of an entrant’s submission. By ticking the terms and conditions box, you agree not to bring a claim against any Judge, South Australian Tourism Awards employee or South Australia Tourism Industry Councilin relation to feedback on your submission.


Judges’ Decision

All submissions are independently scored by three members of the judging panel.  Results are correlated by an Independent Auditor and Chair of Judges and an agreement reached on the winner with the judging panel.  A minimum percentage/score must be achieved for a winner to be announced in a category.  A single entrant category does not guarantee the entrant as a winning entry.

The decision of the South Australian Tourism Awards and the Australian Tourism Awards judging panel are final.


For further information and advice contact SATIC on (08) 8110 0123 or email

Site developed by Freerange Future, Adelaide web designers

Become a member

Keep in the South Australian loop
Sign up to the SATIC Snapshot!

Keep up to date with SATIC via RSS